Helpline
Speak to a member of our Information Support Team
(Call-back service – 24h answer machine)

020 8973 0011

or email nurse@beatingbowelcancer.org
Beating Bowel Cancer Community

Relatives and friends

telboy47

Knowledge is Power

Hi Everyone,
I am a relative Newbie to this great forum, and my wife's background history is there to see on clicking on my link (I hope!).
Having gone for the 'hat-trick' (which we really didn't want to achieve), we have to face the consequences, like many, in respect of what lies ahead, and in what form.
Our initial watchword is 'Positiveness'! Laugh in the face of adversity and keep smiling, irrespective of how bad the day is.
Currently awaiting my wife's DPD Enzyme results, prior to meeting with our oncologist (on a season ticket appointment), I recall a conversation that we had when, after the 4th round of Oxaliplatin/5FU, and my wife withdrawing from the regime through toxicity and drastic side effects (you name it, she had it!). I posed the question having done extensive medical research reading from all and every source, "What, in percentage terms, does Oxa/5FU have on the whole recovery picture for bowel cancer?" The response was quite surprising "70% of success was down to the surgeon, and having both Oxa/5FU in a course of treatment adds a 10% improvement on the chances that the cancer does not return within 5 years; removing one of the chemo elements, reduces that to 5%". My wife ended the regime after the 4th session, otherwise she felt that she would be dead by last August!
Now we face, what appears to be Mets in the lungs of 7 lesions, and of the same strain as that of the bowel cancer. Hence the DPD Enzyme test.