Helpline
Speak to a member of our Information Support Team
(Call-back service – 24h answer machine)

020 8973 0011

or email nurse@beatingbowelcancer.org
Beating Bowel Cancer Community

Life with bowel cancer

Seashells

How many stoma bags?

I placed an order for my supplies and when they finally arrived this weekend there were only 10 bags - clearly an error - I change my bag each day and need a few extra for leaks etc. but it got me wondering how many weeks supply people normally get. My previous order was enough for 2 months but I've only had 3 deliveries so far and the first was arranged by my stoma care nurse so I'm still learning the ropes.
How many bags would you normally get each prescription/delivery?

GD1962

Hi @Seashells

I do the prescribing for stoma bags and agencies usually give boxes of 30 in most cases. I send the script back via post or electronic prescribing. Get back onto the agency or chemist asap and get the script altered.

Take care :x:

Seashells

Thanks @GD1962 I figured at least 30 is reasonable but when I get blood pressure tablets my GP gives 8 weeks supply. The rate I go through bags can be unpredictable unlike tablets. I think I need to stock up a bit! I'll give them a call tomorrow. So many issues with the delivery this time, wrong house, wrong day and not enough bags. These little things do stress me out when I'm trying to manage Chemo ☺

Catherine Blakeney

I used to get 2 boxes of 30 each month along with the medical adhesive spray remover x2 cavilon barrier wipes 1box and complementary wipes along with scented disposal bags. I had a company supply and just used to call them each time put my order in and they took care of the requesting from the gp and delivered no problems the name escapes me but I'll trawl back through my emails and find it for you @Seashells

Lucy Darley