Helpline
Speak to a member of our Information Support Team
(Call-back service – 24h answer machine)

020 8973 0011

or email nurse@beatingbowelcancer.org
Beating Bowel Cancer Community

Stage 4 bowel cancer

Mandy

Scan.....and results phobia

Hubby had scan this week and results next Tuesday.Already feeling sick with anxiety .......How do we cope with trying to live normally with this black cloud hanging over us? I work in a bank and today a customer said could she have a balance and a "smile ".Felt like giving her a list of reasons why I didnt feel like smiling, hubbys cancer, lost my mum recently, had to have my 20 year old cat put down but just gritted my teeth and carried on.Just feel exhausted by the worry of results.

ja66

@Mandy.. I know what you mean. It's difficult to try and be constantly 'upbeat' when the reality is that you could scream. Iv been having a low day today worrying about a scan I need in Nov but I try to keep myself busy to distract my mind. Not always easy now I'm off work. If I start looking too far ahead I have a word with myself and tell myself to take one day at a time. Not easy but looking too far ahead and worrying about scans and results takes the present away from us I think. If hubby is having a good day then try to think of the positives of the day and focus on the good. When you have a customer who wants to make such comments just try to rise above it... they have no idea of your circumstances and expect staff to be at their 'beck and call'. I think I would have curled my lips up slightly whilst cussing under my breath. Don't let their ignorance affect your day. We are all in this together and these are just my ways of coping ... I'm sure others here will say how they cope. Thinking of you and hoping for the best results for your husband and yourself. Also sorry about your recent losses. Take care. Joy :x::x:

Baxter2